WEBINAR Crewing Challenges and Issues in the Taiwanese offshore wind market (POSTPONED)

Aanvangsdatum: 30-Jun-2021
Capaciteit: (19% geboekt)

Details

Due to the serious outbreak of COVID-19 in Taiwan, we had to make the decision to postpone this Webinar, in order to make sure the Taiwanese audience can physically join the Webinar and Taiwanese speakers will be available. 
As soon as we have more information, we will publish the new date. 

--------


Taiwan offshore wind market
The Taiwanese offshore wind market is one of the fastest growing in Asia and at the same time possibly the most accessible one. Taiwan has some of the best resources in the region and attractive natural geography for installation of offshore wind farms. 

The Taiwanese government is supportive, with strong renewable energy ambitions and is aiming for 15.7GW of installed offshore wind capacity (incl. floating wind) by 2035. In 2021, at least 12 wind farms are in development phase, with a total capacity of 5.5GW, and will be installed to the grid before end of 2025. 

Taiwan is continiously looking for cooperation with foreign companies that can provide knowledge and solutions within the entire value chain. The Dutch offshore expertise can, and already plays, a key role in the future development of offshore wind in Taiwan. 

Localization & Crew issues
Taiwan is demanding a substantial localization of the industry to ensure the local economy will profit from the offshore wind developments. The development of a local supply chain is intended to support not only Taiwan's offshore wind sector, but that of the entire burgeoning Asia-Pacific region. As President Tsai Ing-wen states: 'Taiwan's green energy firms will be able to develop in the domestic market, and then use the expertise they have developed to pursue business opportunities around the word.'

As the Taiwan offshore wind market has entered into the construction phase, the market encounters crew/sea fares shortage, e.g. lack of certain training programs and certification systems. Also, the Taiwanese government's strict localization policy may bring challenges, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic. Taiwan is rapidly gaining experience in the offshore wind business, but still relies mostly on foreign suppliers and crews. With the implemented strict quarantine and contract-tracing measures, many crew members are currently forced to remain on the vessel as long as six months without shore leave. 

Webinar
To gain more insight on the current challenges regarding crewing, Holland Home of Wind Energy (HHWE) will organize a Webinar on Taiwan crew issues to exchange experience on this important topic. 

in this Webinar Dutch experts of iPS - Powerful People and Marlow Offshore, will exchange know-how with Taiwanese experts about current status on crew supply in the Taiwanese offshore wind sector. Topics to be discussed will also be the experiences of Dutch crewing companies, and procedures for foreign workers entering Taiwan during COVID-19. 

This Webinar is postponed to a later date in June. All registrants will be informed if the new date is confirmed. 
Taiwanese based companies/people can attend the physical meeting (if COVID-19 situation allows), in Taipei (address TBC). 

Draft agenda

TIME TOPIC SPEAKER
08:30 - 08:40 CET
14:30 - 14:40 CST
 Opening  Moderators:
 Arjen Schutten, Managing Director HHWE &
 Elving Sng, Country Manager Boskalis

08:40 - 08:55 CET
14:40 - 14:55 CST
 Current Status on Crew Supply in offshore wind sector in Taiwan: 
 practical experiences 
 
 Taiwanese speaker TBC

08:55 - 09:10 CET
14:55 - 15:10 CST
 Procedures for foreign workers entering Taiwan during
 COVID-19

 UFL Shipping Agency

09:10 - 09:30 CET
15:10 - 15:30 CST

 Q&A

 
09:30 - 09:35 CET
15:30 - 15:35 CST

 5 MINUTE BREAK

 
09:35 - 09:42 CET
15:35 - 15:42 CST

 iPS - Powerful People: One-stop-shop for personnel solutions

 iPS - Powerful People
09:42 - 09:50 CET
15:42 - 15:50 CST

 Taiwan Offshore Wind - Crewing Solutions       

 Marlow Offshore
09:50 - 10:00 CET
15:50 - 16:00 CST

 Q&A

 
10:00 - 10:50 CET 
16:00 - 16:50 CST
 Panel discussion on:
 - Training & Education;
 - Best Practices; and
 - Local / International Crew.
 All Taiwanese and Dutch speakers
10:50 - 11:00 CET
16:50 - 17:00 CST     

 Main take-aways of Webinar and Closure

 Arjen Schutten (HHWE) and Elving Sng (Boskalis)


More information and registration
For more information please contact Eline Timmer (eline@hhwe.eu / +31 6 51 24 90 79) or Jennifer Chien (jennifer@hhwe.eu / +886 926 732 067).

If you are interested to attend this Webinar, please register by using the online registration form below. NB: if the registration form doesn't work, consider deleting your browser's cache and cookies or use another browser. 

Participation in the Webinar is free of charge.








WEBINAR: Crewing challenges & issues in the Taiwan Offshore Wind Market


* Required

Company data







Contact person







you will receive confirmation of your registration and updates about the activity at this e-mail address.


T&C and Consent

Our general terms and conditions are applicable on this application. By submitting this form, undersigned declares to agree with these terms and conditions and declares to be a participant in the Webinar 'Crewing Challenges & Issues in the Taiwan offshore wind market'.


Yes

HHWE

Contact

Navigation

E-newsletter

Holland Home of Wind Energy (HHWE) is an independent export association, representing the interests of the Dutch wind energy companies and knowledge institutes across the globe

+31 (0) 6 51 24 90 79

+31 (0) 6 46 36 38 54

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay updated on the latest HHWE news and our agenda and activities

Submitting Form...

The server encountered an error.

Form received.